Search our site
Search our site

Research degrees

The Faculty offers three research degrees: MSc by Research, MPhil and PhD. These are potentially available in every School and subject area. Research students are a key and valued part of the activities of the Faculty: they help to build a strong research reputation, are vital members of the Research Centres of Excellence, assist in some of the labs, and occasionally help with teaching undergraduate students.

As a research student, you will be part of an ambitious Faculty that offers fantastic opportunities for inter-disciplinary research and experience, a great research student community, world-class facilities, and the opportunity to develop contacts with external organisations in close collaboration with the Faculty. You will also be able to take part in a broad programme of research training, present your work at conferences and poster days, and attend workshops, seminar series, lectures from external speakers, and other activities organised by the Faculty and the Research Centres.

All research degrees are programmes of independent study at the end of which you are expected to produce a dissertation or thesis and to defend this at a viva voce (oral) examination. The exact nature of this research will vary with the subject studied. Some may involve extensive fieldwork or laboratory testing, whilst others may be more theory-based.

The research areas covered by the Faculty include environmental change, geological and crustal processes, fire and explosion studies, computer vision and machine learning, molecular electronics and photonics, construction materials and sustainable technology, mobile information and network technologies, biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences research.

Currently there are more than 220 research students across the Faculty, many of whom have successfully secured studentships, industry sponsorship or University and Faculty funding. Any opportunities for funding for research degrees are advertised on these pages when they become available.

Duration

The length of time it takes to complete a research degree varies depending on the mode of attendance:

  • MSc by Research Full-time - 1 year
  • MSc by Research Part-time - 2 years
  • MPhil Full-time - 2 years (with optional additional 1 year writing up)
  • MPhil Part-time - 4 years (with optional additional 1 year writing up)
  • PhD Full-time - 3 years (with optional additional 1 year writing up)
  • PhD Part-time - 6 years (with optional additional 1 year writing up)
  • PhD by Publication/Portfolio - view special conditions >

Entry requirements

To apply for all of our research degrees you should have a first or upper second class honours degree in a relevant area. For consideration for a PhD, a masters degree and some research experience would be beneficial.

If you are not from a recognised majority English speaking country, or have not studied at a British university before, you will need to show proof of English language ability (IELTS minimum 6.5 overall (or equivalent)). Please visit the language requirements page for further information.

For further information on all the documentation needed to consider your application, please see our how to apply page. Please ensure that you have contacted a potential supervisor before applying, and that they have confirmed their support, as you are required to state their name on the application form.

Supervisors

We take great care to ensure that you're well supported with appropriately experienced, specialist supervisors. Your supervisory team will consist of:

  • First Supervisor (FS) - who has subject expertise relevant to your research project, and who will be your principal tutor over the course of your studies. You will be expected to meet with your First Supervisor at regular intervals.
  • Second supervisor - who will support your First Supervisor by providing additional advice and expertise, perhaps from a different perspective or methodology.
  • Third supervisor - if your project is inter-disciplinary, or needs further specialist support, you may have a third supervisor who may be external to Kingston University.

You can investigate potential supervisors in our research interests directory.

Fees

A tuition fee is charged each year.  For more information about tuition fees please see the research fees page. The amount shown is for one year of registration only. Note that the tuition fee is subject to annual review and may increase each year.

An additional bench fee will be charged each year: this is a contribution towards the resources for the project and other related costs. The amount charged varies, depending on the project; it will be stated in the offer letter sent to successful applicants.

Application deadline

Applications are accepted at any time of year, but there are two entry points, October and March.

Living costs

View an estimate of the living costs of studying in Kingston.

For more information about fees please view the research fees page. An additional bench fee will be charged and this will be discussed at interview.

Graduate School studentships 2019

The University Graduate School is offering PhD studentships for October 2019 entry (see this page for more information).  Science, Engineering and Computing projects from which studentship applicants must select are listed below; no other projects will be considered.  Do not use Internet Explorer to open the project abstracts listed on this page. Please use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to contact the project's first supervisor to discuss their interest and prospective application. 

How to apply and deadline for applications:  see the information on the Graduate School pages.

You will need to include the following in your application:

  • Online application form
  • Statement of the title of the project for which you are applying and the first supervisor's name
  • An academic CV
  • Copies of your academic certificates and transcripts (degree level onwards)
  • A covering letter stating why you consider you are suitable for the position (maximum 2 pages A4)
  • A copy of your English language qualification, if applicable (see 'English Language' above)

If you wish to apply for more than one project, a separate application must be submitted for each.

References do not need to be included with the application, but will be required for shortlisted applicants.

Please ensure that all required documents are submitted together with your application form as we are unable to consider incomplete applications. 

You should assume that your application has been unsuccessful if you have not heard from us by 4 weeks after the closing date. 

Computer Science & Mathematics

Do not use Internet Explorer to open the project abstracts. Please use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Professor Jamshid Dehmeshki
Email: j.dehmeshki@kingston.ac.uk
Developing a computer aided diagnosis system for the detection of peritoneal disease on CT in patients with ovarian cancer.
Abstract

Professor Christos Politis
Email: c.politis@kingston.ac.uk
Machine learning algorithms for gaming in support of disabled people.
Abstract

Gordon Hunter
Email: g.hunter@kingston.ac.uk
Bees as environmental sensors: application of deep learning to quantify and predict the effects of environmental pollutants and pesticides to bees' health.
Abstract

Dr Jean-Christophe Nebel
Email: j.nebel@kingston.ac.uk
Deep learning based analysis of videos captured by a moving camera.
Abstract

Engineering and Environment

Do not use Internet Explorer to open the project abstracts. Please use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Professor Andy Augousti
Email: augousti@kingston.ac.uk
Growth of lens cells on structured surfaces.
Abstract

Dr Doni Daniel
Email: d.daniel@kingston.ac.uk
Next generation Ceramic Matrix Composites (CMCs) for turbine engine efficiency.
Abstract

Professor Jian Wang
Email: j.wang@kingston.ac.uk
Computational and experimental investigation of the effect of variable ice porosity on ice accretion on wind turbine.
Abstract

Marzio Grasso
Email: m.grasso@kingston.ac.uk
Formability and fracture mechanisms of fibre reinforced polymer composite processed by additive manufacturing.
Abstract

Dr Kerry Brown
Email: k.brown@kingston.ac.uk
Coupling high resolution imagery and Artificial Intelligence to quantify Essential Biodiversity Variables (EBVs).
Abstract

Dr Zainab Saleh
Email: z.saleh@kingston.ac.uk
Boundary layer ingestion propulsion with the aim of fuel burn reduction for future aircraft.
Abstract

Dr Konstantin Volkov
Email: k.volkov@kingston.ac.uk
Plasma-assisted technologies for clean combustion.
Abstract

Dr Olga Duran
Email: o.duran@kingston.ac.uk
SLAM for UAV navigation in GPS and vision denied environments using deep reinforcement learning.
Abstract

Ahmed Elsayed
Email: a.elsayed@kingston.ac.uk
Novel adsorbent materials for automotive gas storage.

Dr Payam Khazaeinejad
Email: p.khazaeinejad@kingston.ac.uk
Computational modelling and simulation of orodispersible tablet compaction.
Abstract

Dr Peter Hooda
Email: p.hooda@kingston.ac.uk
Bridging the gap between environment and health - exposure assessment of potentially harmful agents in soil.
Abstract

Dr Siaka Dembele
Email: s.dembele@kingston.ac.uk
Study of the fire suppression capabilities of micromist sprays.
Abstract

Dr Xianzhi Zhang
Email: x.zhang@kingston.ac.uk
Novel Knowledge Based Process Planning Using Deep Learning Method.
Abstract

Dr Yahya Zweiri
Email: y.zweiri@kingston.ac.uk
Real time navigation using robotic platform and Dynamic vision sensor in unknown environments.
Abstract

Faculty

Do not use Internet Explorer to open this project abstract. Please use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Neil Williams
Email: n.a.williams@kingston.ac.uk
An investigation into pupils' and educators' conceptions of STEM through participation in after-school STEM outreach clubs.
Abstract

Life Sciences, Pharmacy and Chemistry

Do not use Internet Explorer to open the project abstracts. Please use Google Chrome or Firefox.

Dr Ahmed Elbediwy
Email: a.elbediwy@kingston.ac.uk
The influence of cellular energy status on the Hippo pathway.
Abstract

Dr Ali Al-Kinani
Email: A.Alkinani@kingston.ac.uk
Novel ophthalmic inserts loaded with Chalcones: Synthesis, characterisation and biological evaluation studies.
Abstract

Dr Ayomi Perera
Email: A.Perera@kingston.ac.uk
Magnetic-polymer hydrogels for controlled drug release.
Abstract

Dr James Barker
Email: j.barker@kingston.ac.uk
Occurrence of emerging pesticide contaminants in water courses and their relation to veterinary spot-on products.
Abstract

Dr Joseph Bear
Email: j.bear@kingston.ac.uk
The organogelation of liquefied gases.
Abstract

Sianne Schwikkard
Email:  s.schwikkard@kingston.ac.uk
Synthesis of curcumin derivatives for analysis as potential anti-microbial agents
Abstract

Dr Elizabeth Opara
Email: e.opara@kingston.ac.uk
Synthesis and identification of homoisoflavonoids and lignans for the treatment of wet active age-related macular degeneration based on their anti-vascular endothelial growth factor and anti-inflammatory activities.
Abstract

Dr Lori Snyder
Email: l.snyder@kingston.ac.uk
Natural products as prophylaxis and treatment for gonococcal eye infections.
Abstract

Dr Mike Stolinski
Email: m.stolinski@kingston.ac.uk
Investigating the metabolic properties of oligodendrocytes.
Abstract

Dr Mouhamad Khoder
Email: m.khoder@kingston.ac.uk
Intra-intestinal inactivation of residual antibiotics: a promising approach to fight again antimicrobial resistance.
Abstract

Dr Rosa Busquets
Email: r.busquets@kingston.ac.uk
Liquid identification and characterisation.
Abstract

Dr Scott Lawton
Email: s.p.lawton@kingston.ac.uk
Are humans an antigenic sink for schistosomes? The evolution and molecular epidemiology of antigenic variation in vaccine targets against Schistosoma japonicum.
Abstract

Dr Stephen Wren
Email: s.wren@kingston.ac.uk
Vesicles for the Delivery of Insulin: Polymerization Induced Self-Assembly to Access Smart Sugar-Responsive Polymersomes.
Abstract

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Computing
Site menu