External scholarships for students from outside the EU

There are a range of external institution that offer scholarships for international students at Kingston. The following sources of funding are available to students from outside the EU who wish to study in the UK.

Please note, scholarships from partner institutions (including Chevening Scholarships) are not administered by Kingston University. Make sure you use the correct application form when you apply.

Scholarships to choose from

Chevening Scholarships

For students with leadership potential

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government's global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The Scholarships are awarded to outstanding scholars with leadership potential. Awards are typically for a one-year masters degree.

Who can apply for a Chevening Scholarship?

Chevening Scholarships are for talented people who have been identified as potential future leaders across a wide range of fields; including:

  • academia
  • business
  • civil society
  • media
  • politics
  • religion

Applicants should be high-calibre graduates with the personal, intellectual and interpersonal qualities necessary for leadership.

Chevening Scholars come from more than 110 countries worldwide (excluding the USA and the EU).

Please visit the Chevening website for more information about eligibility criteria.

How to apply

For information on how and when to apply for a Chevening Scholarship, sign up now for alerts and read the guidance for applicants at www.chevening.org/apply. Full information about deadlines and priority subjects for countries which offer Chevening Scholarships will be available on the country pages of www.chevening.org.

Commonwealth Scholarships

Through the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), the British Government makes over 800 scholarships and fellowships for postgraduate study and professional development each year to applicants form Commonwealth countries. These awards can cover:

  • master degrees; and
  • split-site scholarships for PhD candidate

All awards are made strictly on the basis of academic merit and their potential to contribute to the needs of their home countries.

Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships in the UK are funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (for developing Commonwealth countries) and the Department for Education (for developed Commonwealth countries), in conjunction with UK universities.

For further information, visit the GOV.UK website.

Fullbright Awards Programme

For US citizens

The Fulbright Programme aims to promote cultural understanding with the US and other countries. There are approximately 20 awards available each year for US citizens to study in the UK, including scholarships for postgraduate study and scholarships and fellowships for lecturing and/or research.

For further information contact:

Institute of International Education

809 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017 3580, USA
Tel: 001 212 883 8200
Web: www.iie.org/Programs/Fulbright-US-student-program

The US-UK Fulbright Commission

Battersea Power Station
188 Kirtling Street
London SW8 5BN
Tel: +44 (0)20 7498 4010
Email: programmes@fulbright.co.uk
Web: www.fulbright.org.uk

Marshall Scholarships

British Marshall Scholarships help finance Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the UK. The Foreign and Commonwealth Office funds them. Up to 40 scholarships are awarded each year.

The scholarships are for study at any UK university. They cover two years of study in any discipline at either undergraduate or postgraduate level, including:

  • tuition fees
  • cost of living expenses
  • a books grant
  • research and daily travel
  • air fares
  • a contribution towards the support of a dependent spouse (if applicable)

For further information visit the Marshall Scholarships website.

Contact us

Please get in touch if you have any queries about our International scholarships. We are here to help.

Tel: +44 (0)20 3510 0746
Email: internationalenquiries@kingston.ac.uk

International Scholarships Department
Kingston University London
Yorkon Building 0019
Kingston Hill campus
Kingston upon Thames, KT2 7LB
United Kingdom

Please note that Kingston University reserves the right to withdraw or amend a scholarship or bursary without prior notification. Scholarships and bursaries are offered subject to funding and availability.